Posted on

Who is your mother?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: My mother is Damascus Bloodwyne, who was a Royal Guardian on the planet-ship Jehovah.  She, like all Guardians, raised me to follow in her footsteps.   I was lucky in that she actually had the opportunity to raise me herself; unfortunately, she was not lucky at all.  She had sustained a terrible injury defending the Pilot-King from an assassination attempt on one of the planets we visited.  As a result, she was unable to continue her duties as a Guardian, leaving her free to raise me on her own.  Damascus was a loving mother and a hard teacher, and taught me many of the skills I needed to keep myself and my charge alive.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

Tell us about your tattoos:

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: My first tattoo came from a sweet little vacation planet that I’ve forgotten the name of, but it’s a butterfly.  On my butt.  I don’t like to talk about it.  Frankly, it’s embarrassing.  There might have been alcohol involved.

I got my second tattoo at the age of 20 when I officially became a Guardian.  My specialty group, which are the personal bodyguards of the Guardians, have a specialized seal that is representative of our section.  It is tattooed between my shoulderblades in high detail and is the size of a spread hand.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

What is your most favorite piece of gear?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: There is a simple, unadorned dagger that my mother gave me when I turned eight and began my Guardian training.  At that age, it was a small sword for me and was the blade that taught me the basics of swordsmanship.  Now it resides in my boot at all times, a last-ditch weapon that no one expects due to its primitive simplicity.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:that would be Phaserbiel, my grapplehawk.

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

What past romantic involvement left you with the most regret?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: Guardians don’t do romance.  Men are for reproduction only, and generally only once, as pregnancy interferes greatly with Guardian duties.  My daughter’s father was a nice-looking young man whose lineage, intelligence, and physical superiority allowed his name to be placed on the list of approved partners for potential breeding.  I don’t know that I ever caught his name…

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

What part of your job on the ship is your favorite?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: As a Guardian, one of my duties was to visit locations where the Pilot-King would be visiting and assess it for potential security threats.  I was then tasked with neutralizing those threats, minimizing them to within an acceptable degree, or declaring the site unsafe.  This part of my previous training carries over to my current post, where I must still, on occasion, pre-assess potential security threats to the Lord Captain and nullify them.  The challenge of this is very satisfying and far more interesting than I expected when I was assigned to this post.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

How did you meet Lord Captain Morraine?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: Macros is the second Lord Captain Morraine to whom I have been assigned.  His Uncle was a wily Rogue Trader who somehow managed to discover the waiting list for acquiring Guardians from Jehovah (not an easy thing to do; the very existence of the list is a closely-guarded secret, as there simply aren’t that many Guardians who are traded off the ship in exchange for trading rights from the Empire).   After ten years of service to the Pilot-King, I was assigned to Manus Morraine as a kind of house-carl.  I secretly acted a bonded bodyguard for him for 4 years before he sent me to his home world and his nephew, Macros.  He had an inkling that he was going somewhere from which he might not return, and so he sent me to guard the scion to his family’s Warrant of Trade. 

I spent over a year with Macros before word came back that he had inherited the Warrant.  In that time, I taught him how to be the ward of a bodyguard, since his actions during conflict were even more important than my own in deciding my ability to keep him alive.  I found him to be a fair man, annoyingly pious but treating his employees well, rewarding competence rather than bootlicking.  Since joining the Morraine household, my life has never been dull.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

What is your relationship with the God-Emperor?

Lord Captain Macros Morraine:

Bathsheba, Master at Arms: The God-Emperor is a strange concept to me.  Although I am aware of the appropriate responses to questions regarding my belief in him, they are, generally, merely a lip-service to the Empire’s religion.  The Jehovah spent many millennia outside the grasp of the Empire as it expanded, and as a result, my people’s beliefs evolved separately from the Imperial dogma.  When the tech-priests found our vessel a thousand years ago, they also brought word of the Omnisiah and the Emperor.  They made it clear to us that these gods were the same as our own, merely with different names, and so we began to incorporate these beliefs into our existing dogma.  Our current religion is, according to our anthropologists, an amalgamation of both religions with a decided skew towards old beliefs of the people of the Jehovah.  This is not, however, common knowledge outside of the Jehovans.

Astropath Iona, Choirmaster:

Sister Truth, Missionary:

Onin, Ship’s Navigator:

Brother O.D.:

Tora, Queen of the Twists:

Leave a Reply

